A little history of Liettres castle

Vinaigrette 0
The castle - ©Havang(nl) / CC-BY-SA The castle - ©Havang(nl) / CC-BY-SA
Liettres castle Castle

The first mention of the fortress dates back to 1210, with the knight Jean de Liettres. But it was Simon of Luxembourg, provost of the collegiate church of Saint-Omer, who rebuilt the castle at the end of the 15th century on the old foundations: the two big towers date back to that time, but the main building was altered in the 18th century.

Then Liettres fell to several owners and was raised to a barony in 1766. Then it was sold during the French Revolution but few years later, Stanislas d'Halewyn, who married Liettres' heiress in 1790, came back... his family kept the estate for several years.


And also!