Suburbs of Ville-l'Evêque owned since the 13th century a church dedicated to Mary-Magdalene, was raised on the current boulevard Malesherbes. In the 17th century, the district population extended continually: people needed a new church, a bigger one! The new church should be raise in the perspective of the rue Royale. King Louis XV laid the first stone down in 1764.
Plans were designed by Pierre Contant-d'Ivry. After this one died, Guillaume Couture replaced him: he decided to change the Latin cross plan with a Greek cross plan. But during the Revolution, the building was transformed into to a National assembly, a stock exchange, a library... Napoleon decided to transform it into a temple dedicated to Glory: he asked the architect Pierre Alexandre to finish it. The church was completed in 1845. The current building (108 metres long, 43 metres wide, 30 metres high) is completely surround by Corinthian columns.