The gibbet's dark shade used to be here, in the current district of the Canal-Saint-Martin... Come over here... at number 53 of the rue de la Grange-aux-Belles, a lonely hill used to overlook Paris. In 1233, they raised the famous gibbet here, which was used for executions, for 4 centuries... In 1760, they replaced it by a second gallows, 500 metres further (current 46 rue de Meaux).
Oh, it was because the bodies hanging here gave off disgusting smells and miasmas: it was the hospital Saint-Louis who asked for the gibbet’s moving, because of hygiene concerns. And then... 30 years later, they definitively removed the gibbet. The place was transformed into a vast dump, where horse trader used to cut up their dead horses!