Originally, our church is a modest chapel set up as a parish in 1184, belonging to Parisian priory Saint-Martin. Re-raised at the end of the 12th century then in the 15th century, the current Saint-Nicolas was raised from 1576.
At that time, monks from priory Saint-Martin gave a piece of their land in order to extend the church, especially to lengthened the nave and built lateral chapels. In 1745, they replaced the coloured stained glass windows by white glasses. It was restored in 1823 and 1843.
The beautiful northern façade (overlooking the rue Saint-Martin) dates back to the 15th century, with statues by Desprez (1843). The humanist Guillaume Budé and madame de Scudéry were buried here.