Next to the garden Jacques-Boucher, this tower surprising us by its imposing stature! It was raised from 1627: parishioners asked for it because they regretted their church of St-Paul had no tower-bell. Was the tower raised on the foundations of old fortifications? We don't know... The architect Benoît Lebrun owned the tower during the French Revolution. He decided to convert it into a house.
Parishioners raised against this plan and organized a petition. Finally, phew! The tower was saved and was owned by Etienne Tremblay, a goldsmith who lived rue Royale...