Deputy mayors used to seat near the Grand-Châtelet, in the 12th century. Then in 1357, Etienne Marcel owned the Maison aux Piliers ("Pillars house") or Maison aux Dauphins ("Dauphins' house"), raised by a canon of Notre-Dame they owned by king of France Philip Augustus, located on the edge of the place de Grève.
The house housed a gathering of bourgeois and merchants who dispensed justice. From 1357 to 1533, the City's Office gathered here. But it was ruined, so the house was demolished in 1589.
The construction of the new house was completed in 1628. But in 1871, a fire damaged the city hall. For the reconstruction, they asked architects Ballu and Deperthes: they extended and raised the Renaissance façade. The inauguration took place on June 30th 1882.