The Monnaie was first located in Charlemagne's Palace. Then it moved in the Marais district, near the church of Saint-Jacques-de-la-Boucherie, then in the current rue de la Monnaie in the 14th century. But buildings were uncomfortable and decrepit!
They decided to rebuild a brand new building: abbot Terray, King’s treasurer, laid down the first stone in 1771. They raised it on the location of duke of Nevers' palace, later owned by princess de Conti...
The façade overlooking the quai de Conti is 118 metres long. We have 6 Ionic columns. On the attic, 6 statues (allegories of Strength, Justice, Peace, Abundance, Trade and Wisdom) made by Jean-Baptiste Pigalle, Mouchy and Lecomte. Framing the door, statues of Ceres and Mercury.