Peyrou? Yes, this word, in the Languedoc region, refers to a stony land where took place fairs and markets in the Middle-Ages. In 1689, we found here a threshing floor. The idea of a promenade came with the marquis de La Trousse, Languedoc commander and Mr. de Basville, Languedoc steward.
The building site began in May 1689, based on plans by architect D'Aviler. Then in October 1685 they decided to raise an equestrian statue of king Louis XIV, in Montpellier. But where exactly? They wanted to put it in the Peyrou: so the site began in February 1718. In 1766, the Peyrou square needed to be extend and embellish: the archbishop of Narbonne laid down the first stone.
At that time, the square was called "Royal square". With its huge arc de triomphe, ponds, water tower and its statue of Louis XIV sculpted by Pierre Mazeline and Simon Hurtrelle, the Peyrou became Montpellier's pride!