This tower is the only vestige of the old house belonging to knights of Saint-John of Jerusalem. The other buildings were destroyed in 1898... It has 4 floors, but in the past we had more. They restored it a lot, and razed houses which were massed since ages, when they laid out the place Pie in 1861.
Our story began when bishop from Notre-Dame-des-Doms allowed Garsias de Liza, great master of the Order, to raise a church, a cemetery and a house inside the city walls.
Then in 1379, Knights moved in the house named Saint-Jean-de-Rhodes, who also belonged to the Templars. Knights were gone, so the Apostolic Seat decided to give the place to cardinal Pierre Corsisi. And when popes left Avignon, the Knight house was abandoned...
Then, the old house was sold during the Revolution, then transformed into barracks between 1793 and 1833. Nowadays, a plaque tells about this long past: La tour a été restaurée. La place du marché agrandie. Napoléon III étant empereur, Mathias Debelay archevêque, Adolphe Durand Saint-Amand préfet, Paul Pamard députe-maire, Edouard Perrot, Jean-Baptiste Clerc, Eugène Bastide, Jean-Baptiste Madon adjoints au maire. MDCCCLXI
Which means: "The tower was restored, the market square was extended. With emperor Napoléon III, Mathias Debelay archbishop, Adolphe Durand Saint-Amand prefect, Paul Pamard deputy-mayor, Edouard Perrot, Jean-Baptiste Clerc, Eugène Bastide, Jean-Baptiste Madon, mayor".