In 1348, we found the first mentions of Sarzay lords, the Barbançois family. Mathieu de Barbançois probably raised the castle in the beginning of the 15th century. Vestiges of 3 turrets mean that in the past, it used to exist two surrounding walls, flanked by a pond and moats. Whoa, what a great defensive system!
The keep was divided into 4 floors, with a ground floor, kitchens and a living room. On first floor, a justice room. On second floor, lord's apartments, with latrine and chimneys. On the last floor was a room with a covered way.
The castle fell to Louis-Charles de La Porte de Montval, in 1719. Then it was abandoned and transformed into a warehouse. In the 19th century, Sarzay was almost demolished: surrounding walls were razed, moats were filled... Since the middle of the 20th century, the new owners restored it.