On the former stronghold put up by the de Chambe family in 12th century, Guillaume de Murol rebuilt a castle: architect Pierre Celeyrol reinforced the surrounding wall, raised new buildings inside the courtyard and added a chapel.
In 1455, the castle fell to d'Estaing family, who transformed their new house. Windows were added to the walls. During war of religion, the enclosure was reinforced a second time. Indeed, the lord of Murol became at that time one of the League's leader in Auvergne.
Conflicts and abandonment destroyed Murol in the 19th century. Département of Puy-de-Dôme purchased it in 1890.