The many faces of Odéon theatre

Vinaigrette 0
The façade - ©DXR / CC-BY-SA The façade - ©DXR / CC-BY-SA
Odéon theatre Auditorium

A fine neoclassic theatre raised between 1779 and 1782 by Peyre and Wailly, on the location of old gardens belonging to the Condé city house. After the French Revolution, the theatre was named Odéon (1797), just before a fire destroyed it... Chalgrin reraised it in 1807, then... in 1819, after a second fire! Famous play Le Mariage de Figaro by Beaumarchais was created here in 1784.


And also!