The revolutionary rue des Colonnes

Vinaigrette 0
The street - ©Tangopaso / CC-BY-SA The street - ©Tangopaso / CC-BY-SA
Rue des Colonnes Street District

Here we are on the old passage des Colonnes ("Columns' street") founded in 1791, in order to link the rue Feydeau with the rue des Filles-Saint-Thomas: it allowed the access to the Feydrau theatre, until 11 PM.

A group of speculators who owned the Verneuil city house, launched the construction of the passage, with architect Joseph Bénard. 7 years later, they transformed the passage into a street! A 90 metres long street, unfortunately cut by the opening of the rue de la Bourse in 1826...


And also!