Gien bridge, protected by sailors' patron saint
Gien bridge was opened on February 1245. We know it because king of France saint Louis wrote an act where he compensated Gilly brothers for their loss: indeed, the two men collected toll here, before the construction of the new bridge.
In the reign of Anne de Beaujeu (countess of Gien), this bridge was already in a pitiful condition.
In the 17th century, it was shaken, and arches fell down. In 1733, it was entirely destroyed then rebuilt. In 1789, Gien's register of grievances mentioned the repairing was far from being done. In 1820, the last three houses on the bridge were destroyed, because they were dangerous for the traffic!
The bridge resisted to 1846, 1856 and 1866's floods.