Haudriettes fountain: the story of the man they thought dead
On the corner of rue des Archives and rue des Haudriettes, there is a small fountain... It was named after an old convent raised here in the Middle-Ages, founded by Etienne Haudri’s wife...
He was king Louis XI’s servant, and he left Paris for a pilgrimage in Compostela, without informing somebody!
His wife thought he was dead... Oh, the poor lady! She was ravaged by suffering: she decided to found a monastery in order to welcome ill pilgrims. But Haudri came back, one fine day! Too late... his wife took holy orders.
How could Haudri get her back? Pope himself intervened: his wife could come back, but he asked them to keep the monastery, which became convent of Haudriettes sisters. The fountain was inaugurated in 1636, under the name of “New fountain”.
It was re-raised in 1760, based on plans by architect Moreau-Desproux (he also erected the Palais-Royal, in Paris). What about the low-relief with the naiad? It was made by sculptor Mignot!