History of a big stone and its church
The Gros Caillou ("Big stone") was a huge boundary stone which used to demarcate Paris borders. It was located on the corner of streets Cler and Saint-Dominique, but they destroyed it in the 18th century...
In the past, inhabitants of this district went to the Mass in St-Sulpice, because they hadn’t their own church. It was a fair distance!
Parishioners asked for a brand new church and they started to build it from 1738, extended between 1770 and 1780 and destroyed during the Revolution...
Duchess of Angoulême laid the first stone down in 1822: it’s a small neoclassical church, with a façade flanked by 4 Doric columns. Everything was completed 8 years later, in May 1830.