Moses and the checked material façade
The Moses | Anecdotrip.com / CC-BY-NC-SA
This nice mansion was raised with white stones and bricks, called damier champenois, "Champagne's checked material". A typical construction!
It was primitively called hôtel de la Chèvre ("house of the Goat"), because of a sign.
This mansion was called "Moses house" in 1605, because there was a Moses' statue put here.
This is not the original statue, because it disappeared during the French Revolution. The current house dates back to 1553, rebuilt after the huge fire of 1524, which destroyed almost all the city.