Pont-de-Veyle castle and the memory of the pretty Aïssé
A castle with bridges
We can visit the castle’s park…
A nice stroll, where you’ll discover 8 different bridges, with the quiet river Veyle and the lovely façade of the 17th century castle...
Pont-de-Veyle and Aïssé
The name refers to the bridge (pont in French) they raised upon river Veyle.
The first lords were mentioned in the 11th century, then the land fell to counts of Savoie, until the middle of the 16th century.
And in 1703, Pont-de-Veyle fell to Augustin de Ferriol, councilor in Metz Parliament.
Who were the Ferriol? Oh, a family with a famous member... famous lady Aïssé!
This miss was saved at the age of 4 from a slave market in Constantinople by Augustin’s brother, marquis d’Argental.
Aïssé often wrote about Pont-de-Veyle in her famous letters.
Because her two adoptive brothers, Antoine de Ferriol (nicknamed ″monsieur de Pont-de-Veyle″) and Charles-Augustin de Ferriol, lived here.
Aïssé, with Mme de Ferriol, often sojourned in the castle.