Saint-Denis-de-Jouhet church and its medieval stained-glass windows
Mentioned for the first time in 1102, the current church was rebuilt at the end of the 12th c., after a fire that destroyed the primitive church raised in the 11th c.
The octagonal tower-bell was added after centuries.
The building site began with the chevet. The two lateral chapels were added in the 15th c.
The stained-glass windows
Pretty ancient stuff!
This little church houses stained-glass windows made at the end of the 12th century: the oldest in Indre departement!
We have two pieces, the left one and the right one (the middle one dates back to the 19th century).
On the grill!
Those windows is an echo of saint Denis life, in medallions.
We can see in a jumble Denis’ sermon (we read DIONISIVS and POPULUS), Denis in front of the Governor (SISINIVS), his execution, the saint who put his head on the altar.
Then, on the first window, we can see Denis with wild beasts, Denis during his torture, Denis while they were burning him on the grill (CATASTA).
Those two windows were restored in 2002, but they kept their primitive and medieval look!
The middle one, re-made in the 19th century, shows the saint receiving Communion and the saint in the arena, in the grill.
Don’t miss the big rose window representing the Christ during the Last Judgement.
It dates back to the 19th century, made by the famous glassmaker Lucien-Léopold Lobin, from Tours.