Saint-Julien-le-Pauvre's nine lives
Here's one of the 6 Merovingian basilicas mentioned by Gregory of Tours in 582.
Located on the Roman road which led to Orléans city, Benedictine monks moved in here and rebuilt the old church from 1160.
St-Julien became one of the most important parish in the University district (a district which extended here in the 12th century).
When the University moved in Sainte-Geneviève's hill, the priory was abandoned. In 1651, the church was almost ruined! The Gothic portal was demolished.
It became a simple chapel in 1653 and was finally closed in 1793. Saint-Julien was converted into a salt loft then into a warehouse until 1826.
In 1889, it was dedicated to the Orthodox church.