The creation of the barley sugar from Moret
In Moret-sur-Loing, near Paris, a very famous speciality was created in 1638 by sisters from Moret abbey: the barley sugar (sucre d'orge in French)! This shiny and amber stick is made with sugar cooked in a barley decoction. Primitively, sisters used only sugar cane from Spain, replaced then by sugar beet. This barley sugar is available in sticks or hard candies. And the house where sisters created the recipe still exists, a nice half-timbered house, known as Saint-Jacques' inn: nowadays, it houses the candies shop.